RECIPES…

This week I am sharing a recipe that I just love. I got it from on of my favorite cookbooks, Biba’s Italian Kitchen. I will be sharing a recipe once or twice a month as the mood moves me and I hope y’all will do the same. That’s what this site is all about…SHARING.

So, Here it is.   RISOTTO CON SALSICCE…Risotto with sausage.

  • 6 cups chicken broth(homemade) or 3 cups canned chicken broth and 3cups water.
  •   4 TBSP unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup minced yellow onion
  • 1/2 pound either mild or hot Italian Sausage-your preference, casings removed and finely chopped.
  • 2 cups imported Italian Arborio rice
  • 1 cup full-bodied red wine, such as Barbera or Zinfandel
  • 2 TBSP tomato paste, diluted in 1 cup of chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 2 TBSP chopped fresh flat-leaf Italian parsley

SALT AND FRESHLY GROUND BLACK PEPPER TO TASTE.

Heat the broth in a medium-size saucepan and keep warm over low heat.

Heat 3 TBSP of the butter in a large skillet over medium hear When the butter foams, add the onion and cook, stirring, until onion begins to color, 2 to 4 minutes. Add the sausage and stir with a large spoon to break up the meat, 4 minutes. When the sausage loses its raw color, add the rice. Cook and stir until rice is well coated with the butter, onion and sausage, about 1 minute. Add the wine.

When the wine is almost all reduced, add the diluted tomato paste, Cook, stirring, until the tomato paste and broth have been absorbed.

Add about 1/2 cup or just enough to barely cover the rice. Cook, stirring, until the broth has been absorbed almost completely. Continue cooking and stirring the rice in this manner, adding 1/2 cup of broth at a time, for about 15 minutes. At this point the rice should tender but still firm to the bite

Add the remaining butter the Parmigiano, and the Parsley. Mix quickly for 1 to 2 minutes until the butter and cheese have melted and the rice has a moist, creamy consistency. Taste and adjust the seasoning, and serve at once.

Please feel free to share your favorite recipes with us. I look forward to trying new recipes as do, I’m sure, my reader. So please, share them, here.

Next recipes…My own no bake cheesecake, and Granita Di Amarene (Black Cherry Granita)

Thank Y’all for following me, I hope you like what you have been reading.

Leave a comment